Agrobiodiversity in Gilgit-Baltistan on the Verge of Extinction

1. Introduction

The region spread across an area of 72,496 square kilometres bordering China, Afghanistan and India. Situated between longitude 72°-75° North and latitude 35° -37°East, the region has been administratively divided into seven districts: Gilgit, Baltistan, Diamer, Ghizar, Ganche, Astore and Hunza-Nagar. These, in turn, have been further sub-divided into 13 sub-divisions and 19 tehsils. The region’s administrative headquarter is located in Gilgit Town (see Map1).

Read More